Farting too much? Questions

Discussion in 'Rhodesian Ridgeback' started by Ljusto, Aug 29, 2017.

1. Ljusto

Ljusto New Member

Name:
    Sljusto

Farting too much?

Hey guys. I've gotten a very feisty RR about 4 months ago. Since we keep him in the house, it's kind of an issue for us when he keeps farting non-stop (about 3-4 times an hour, sometimes more). We of course take him outside for walks and regular wc sessions, as for food he is getting Josera from germany which was recommended to us by the guy we bought it from. We also give him boiled chicken with rice and boiled leftover meat, so I find it unlikely that it's a bad diet?

He's 6 months old, maybe it's just because he's young?
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. My bear Yoji

My bear Yoji Member

Name:
    Philippa
    GsdSlave and CaroleC like this.
    That can't be very pleasant!
    The only thing I can offer, I'm not an expert,so, this is only what I have researched myself
    The potential for ' bloat ' is quite high in large breeds. One of the symptoms is belching and wind. To help with this spread the daily food allowance over several feeds.
    Does he gulp his food from his dish, if so he will be taking in a lot of air ( which then needs to come out ) so, to stop his gulping put his food on a large tray so he then his to pick his food up rather than grabbing it
    I also read pegs can be useful for the humans - ha ha !
  4. CaroleC

CaroleC Member

Name:
    Carole
    GsdSlave likes this.
    Splitting his meals down into smaller portions is good advice, and some folk like to use a stand for the feeding dish to prevent food being 'thrown back' into the throat.