Feed Questions

Discussion in 'Dogue de Bordeaux' started by Tuppy55, Aug 8, 2016.

1. Tuppy55

Tuppy55 New Member

Name:
    Rich
    Azz likes this.

Feed

I've got a 9 week old puppy and been feeding him wainwrights biscuits and meat he's growing well he is 10.4kg
    But sometimes he seems really fussy and doesn't want to eat.
    What do you feed your dogs and what would you recommend?

Also he's teething and I've gave him chews toys etc but doesn't seem to be improving nipping fingers and toes what would you recommend?

Cheers
    Rich

[​IMG]
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. CaroleC

CaroleC Member

Name:
    Carole
    Azz and Tuppy55 like this.
    Hi Rich, welcome to the forum.

I feed Wainwright's too, and have been happy with the quality. Perhaps his appetite has just been affected by the change of environment - and the proximity of human food.

I'm afraid I have no experience of bull breeds, but I'm sure someone will be along soon.
  4. Chris B

Chris B Member

Name:
    Chris
    Azz and Tuppy55 like this.
    At nine weeks, you've a way to go yet before you get the mouthing under control. Puppies, like babies, explore their World with their mouths.

When puppies get excited or tired, the mouthing gets worse. The best thing to do is, as soon as teeth touch skin stop all interaction including eye contact for anything from a split second to a few seconds until pup stops, then go back to what you were doing. Repeat, repeat, repeat. When pup is over-tired, I find a crate/cage/playpen is good so that you can coax pup in and they usually settle down to sleep quite quickly.

Your pup is lovely by the way xx
  5. GsdSlave

GsdSlave Member

Name:
    Vee
    For large breeds its best to feed a good adult food as they need to grow slowly otherwise they run the risk of developing joint issues.
    There is no one food that suits all, though you could ask the breeder what they recommend.