New Akita owner Introductions

Discussion in 'Akita' started by Heidyjo, Jun 23, 2017.

1. Heidyjo

Heidyjo New Member

Name:
    Kiyomi

New Akita owner

Hello everyone,
    I just brought home my Akita puppy, her name is Kiyomi and she is 12 weeks old. She is an extremely good puppy. Any advice forum will be appreciated as I'm a novice dog owner. Luckily my boyfriend has had an Akita in the past so he is very helpful. Since I'm the one who is home with her all day, I welcome advice on how to train her.
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. Branjo Snow

Branjo Snow New Member

Name:
    Branjo
    Heidyjo likes this.
    Welcome and glad to hear about your new addition to the family.

Your boyfriend previously owning an Akita will be a huge help to you. This is my first Akita (on my avatar), Luna, 8+ months old.

These dogs think big even when they are small, so you can see that Akita stubborn trait very early on. Hella cute when they are tiny, but they grow so fast it can become a problem in no time at all. So lessons in manners starts at day one. Even now when I scold mine she ignores me for 2 minutes, its like she puts 'me' on a time out for not letting 'her' do something.

Start your basic training commands right away, they pick them up ridiculously quick.

One of the most important things right now is socialization with both people and other dogs. Get her into a puppy class right away, even if she learns nothing from it, the interaction with the other dogs alone is worth its weight in gold.

Make sure she meets all the family members too, the more the merrier, no one can resist an Akita pup (cub) anyway so that won't be hard to do.

And I believe its the law for you to provide Akita puppy pics now :p
  4. My bear Yoji

My bear Yoji Member

Name:
    Philippa