Newbie, considering a rough collie or sheltie General Chat

Discussion in 'Shetland Sheepdog' started by jessabella, Jan 14, 2010.

1. jessabella

jessabella New Member

Name:
    Jess

Newbie, considering a rough collie or sheltie

Hi There,

Another Newbie here.
    So at the moment, we have a chihuahua x pomeranian called Dudley, we got him as a rescue, he had obviously encountered some trauma in his early life :x. when he first came to us, he was a terribly nervous/aggressive wreck. Now, 10 years on, he is almost sane!
    So I am hoping to get a rough collie sometime this year, (probably in the later half). I am looking at rough collies and Shelties and, apart from the obvious side and appearance differences, I am wondering how the temperament of the Sheltie compares to that of the rough collie? Also, does anyone have any experience or photies of either of these dogs which they would like to pass on?

I will post up some pics of Dudley too when I figue out how :)

Jess x
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. labradork

labradork New Member

Name:
    labradork
    Hi there, welcome.

A friend of my mums has a Rough Collie. He is a nice dog. I find him a bit aloof (more so as he has got older) but there is not nasty bone in his body. On the negative side, he is as stubborn as a mule and unfortunately is a car chaser. I have been told that was he was difficult to train and, I quote, is "No Lassie!".
  4. youngstevie

youngstevie

Hi, two breeds I love myself.

I agree with labradork in the fact that I had a friend who owned rough's and they can be aloof although not with her, so I darsay that was fine with her.
    One of hers seems very stubbord, the other very intelligent (although brother and sister) I do believe they have health issues, but I am sure you can google those that you need to look for.