What breed is best for us? Bichon or Maltese Questions

Discussion in 'Bichon Frise' started by xrr, Feb 17, 2008.

1. xrr

xrr New Member

Name:
    bo

What breed is best for us? Bichon or Maltese

Hi
    Im new to this and so im not sure if this is the right place to type this but...
    My family and I have thought long and hard about getting a dog and have finally narrowed our choices down to two dogs- maltese and bichon frise. we have neighbours with bichon frises but have only seen the maltese from the internet etc. Mnay websites have doffernt opinions about both dogs. We have young children so our dog must get on well with kids and we dont want a dog whch has a relly short life time or is prone tpo illnesses.. what breed do you think is best for us? can you tell us the pros and cons of each dog?
    thanks
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. zoby

zoby New Member

Name:
    ma
    hi and welcome to Dogsey :grin:

As the (i think) the only member on here with a Bichon you can guess which i would recommend.

My Bichon Princess (dont ask!) is a fabulous dog, shes smart and fun, boisterous and loving. The reason we went for a Bichon is because we have an asthmatic child but tbh i cant imagine me ever owning a different breed now. I am totally converted.

Yes they need a lot of grooming, daily brushing if possible.
    yes they need a daily walk (not just a nip round the block)
    yes they can be yappy (princesss goal in life is to protect us from my neighbours cats - a job she takes very seriously)

A lot of what i read stated that Bichons are very hard if not impossible to housetrain - Princess was housetrained within her first week here and nearly two years later we have NEVER had an accident in the house.