Bassetts again..... Training Questions Training

Discussion in 'Basset Hound' started by Vesta, Aug 11, 2008.

1. Vesta

Vesta New Member

Name:
    Javek Vesta

Bassetts again..... Training Questions

This is to them of you who no about bassett.

In your knolege do they bark a lot? An can they be traine to sit, down and so on

And one last thing i have other dogs that it will be left with when I go . I have herd they get nervus/barky when left, will it be OK with another dog for companion?

Thank you
    javek
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. elaineb

elaineb New Member

Name:
    Elaine
    They are hounds so yea they bark and there bark can be quite (how shall I put this. . .) wierd, annoying anyway you know this coz you got one. So yea they bark hun:grin: In regards to the sitting etc I think they are just like any other dog, but I'm no expert perhaps someone here has one and can give you advice. Good luck
  4. Hali

Hali New Member

Name:
    Fiona
    I have never owned a bassett, but I do have a friend who has two.

They bay/sing/howl more than a bark but with my friends dogs they normally only did so when people came to the house etc.

She had two and they could be left no problem, though they were always well excercised beforehand.

As for trainging - well, yes, from what I've seen, you can train them to sit etc, but whether they decide to do it when you ask them is a different matter. They are very strong willed and many people say shouldn't be let off the lead because of this - i.e. they will only come back if they want to.
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 12, 2008
  5. catrinsparkles

catrinsparkles New Member

Name:
    catrin
    Like many scent hounds Bassetts do bark/wail/howl etc etc. Dogs are dogs and can all be trained to various things with varying degrees of success, but scent hounds can be defient....often in a very commical way though!