Dalmatian Food Questions Questions

Discussion in 'Dalmatian' started by Madison G, Jul 21, 2014.

1. Madison G

Madison G New Member

Name:
    Madison

Dalmatian Food Questions

Hi everyone, I'm both new here and will be new to owning a Dalmatian. I'm getting a male around the end of August and while I've owned many dogs in the past, I'm not experienced with this breed yet! I'm trying my best to prepare long before he arrives to make sure I've got everything covered.

One thing I haven't quite figured out yet is food. I know I need a dog food low in purines to prevent him from producing urinary stones and issues related to that. I was just wondering what all of you feed your Dalmatians. The brands I have access to at my local pet stores are:

GO!
    Taste of the Wild
    Nutro Natural Choice
    Royal Canin
    Science Diet
    Blue Buffalo
    Acana
    Natural Balance
    NOW

I can't think of any others, there is quite a large selection (we have Total Pet & Petland). I didn't include grocery store brands because they're just not the greatest quality, especially for a breed prone to something like urinary stones (in my opinion). I don't think feeding raw would be a practical option for me, although I know it is a very good choice.

Thanks in advance!
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. 6JRT's

6JRT's Member

Name:
    u
    If your getting a puppy then you will need to buy the same puppy food as breeder as been feeding him on, then if you wish to change the food do so slowly over a number of weeks, or your puppy may have the runs.
  4. Janet

Janet Member

Name:
    Janet
    An exciting time for you - I bet you can't wait to get your new puppy!

I don't know anything about the best kind of food for Dalmations I'm afraid, but where I live there isn't much choice of good quality dog food locally. I have found the solution is to buy online and have it delivered. You can even get dog food from Amazon!
  5. GsdSlave

GsdSlave Member