Epilepsy - a subject that should be mentioned Health

Discussion in 'General Dog Chat' started by Malka, Jun 3, 2014.

1. Malka

Malka Member

Name:
    Juli

Epilepsy - a subject that should be mentioned

On the dog breed threads there is mention of possible health problems, one of which is epilepsy, but nothing is really discussed about it.

I have introduced a few people to Breedia - some also joined Dogsey - but their dogs - pure-bred pedigree - are epileptic.

But for some reason canine epilepsy is a subject that should be mentioned but is not. And I think that especially on a website like Breedia, where it is accepted and recognised that epilepsy is a known problem in certain breeds, the subject should be mentioned and discused.

My dog is epileptic but she is a mutt of no known breed, therefore I have no knowledge of where her epilepsy came.

I do, however, think that this is a subject that should be mentioned and discussed here on Breedia.

Not swept under the carpet.
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. Azz

Azz Adminstrator

Name:
    Azz
    I don't think it is swept under the carpet Malka. There are lots of illnesses and ailments, such as hip dysplasia, that affect many breeds, and the same could be said about them.

This is also one of the reasons why I think a forum is important for each breed here on Breedia - so that people, when looking for information, can read people's real life experiences as well :)
  4. Trouble

Trouble Member

Name:
    shirley
    Well some of us have no experience of epilepy so how do we discuss it?
  5. Malka

Malka Member

Name:
    Juli
    You do not have to discuss it, but it is still a hidden subject even amongst breeders and needs to be openly admitted.

http://www.breedia.com/dogs/belgian-shepherd-dog-tervuren

Nico is epi..

I got his owner to join Breedia but he has not wanted to say Nico is epi.