Hi, I’m a newbie w/ a rescue w/ poss. Weimaraner ancestry Questions

Discussion in 'Weimaraner' started by Bunny<3Luna, Dec 16, 2018.

1. Bunny<3Luna

Bunny<3Luna New Member

Name:
    Bunny

Hi, I’m a newbie w/ a rescue w/ poss. Weimaraner ancestry

Hi, I’m hoping to find a positive learning community :). I have a rescue named Luna who I just ran dna on and her ancestry. She’s 12.5% Australian cattle dog, the same amount Cocker spaniel, the same amount German shepherd, and the same amount Chow chow. 50% of her, though includes the breed groups Asiatic, Terrier, Working dogs (and one other group I can’t quite recall)...but included in her mix is possibly Weimaraner. The reason I mention that is that except for her erect ears, she looks and feels a lot like a Weimaraner and she acts like one, too. I’m just trying to figure out a few characteristics specific to the breed.

One unusual thing about her, and I hope this isn’t too crude, is her vulva is more or less underneath her instead of right on her backside. I’ve never seen this in any other breed of dog. Is this a Weimaraner thing?

Another thing I’m trying to figure out...what kind of collar should she have? When I first brought her home she had a bad respiratory infection and she’d cough to the point of collapsing her trachea. I never want her to experience that again and I was wondering the pros and cons of buying a wider, possibly Martingale-style, collar?

I’m looking forward to meeting everyone and reading your responses,

Thanks
    Bunny<3Luna
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. CaroleC

CaroleC Member

Name:
    Carole