laid back small breed? General Chat

Discussion in 'General Dog Chat' started by katilea, May 18, 2016.

1. katilea

katilea New Member

Name:
    Kate

laid back small breed?

Hi

I've tended to have high energy medium sized dogs for most of my life and now looking to downsize for my next.
    Most of the small and toy breed categories seem to be terriers which I have no experience with, though I do like bright dogs that enjoy doing doggy puzzles and learning new stuff I'd like my next dog to have lower exercise needs. (compared to collies/collie crosses).

I'd like dog to be small enough to fit on footplate of mobility scooter or in a small dog carrier (for toy breeds) for longer journeys for when it got tired.

What breeds would you recommend?

Thanks
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. CaroleC

CaroleC Member

Name:
    Carole
    katilea likes this.
    In the past, I have had two friends who showed their dogs and travelled them, (in carriers), on petrol motor scooters. One had a Cavalier, the other had a Toy Poodle. Though I didn't actually meet this person, my local Working Trials Club had a member who brought her Japanese Chin to Trials in this way too. I was told that she managed a CD qualification with him - no mean feat for such a small breed.
  4. Chris B

Chris B Member

Name:
    Chris
    katilea likes this.
    I too downsized from medium sized breeds. My last dog was a Border Collie who I loved to the moon and back, but realised that with advancing age I wouldn't cope with the high energy needs to get another.

I wanted a smaller dog with character, but who I knew could be exercised on the garden should the weather or health be against us. I also wanted a healthy breed.