Leg Problems and Breed Questions

Discussion in 'General Dog Chat' started by lovemybull, Nov 25, 2014.

1. lovemybull

lovemybull Member

Name:
    Opheila

Leg Problems and Breed

Unlike some of you who have had dogs your whole life I'm still kinda new at this. Tell me about breed specific leg and orthopedic issues. Poor Callie is walking with his whole back leg in the air. He's clumsy on four legs never mind three. I made a vet appointment for this afternoon.

This happened before during the summer. Then he was just limping but still putting weight on it. I don't remember if it was the same back leg or the other one. They gave him an anti inflammatory and after a week or so he was fine.

My son is helping me with carrying him up and down the stairs and carrying him out to the yard. Old house with a zillion staircases. Even getting on chairs, beds, into the front seat of the car all very difficult for him even when he's feeling well. And he's young, probably not more than 3 years.

I know it has to have something to do with his build. Big head, neck and fairly massive chest on legs that look like they were made for another dog. Would getting those portable steps be a good idea? Maybe he's straining his muscles trying to get up and down off things? Suggestions?
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. LMost

LMost Member

Name:
    LMost
    Folding ramp.
    There fairly easy to build, or buy. The prices do range greatly though.

Bully breeds are kinda know for sprains, pulls and muscle tears.

I'm on the ED and HD end with always owning Mastiffs and Saints.
    I have padded wide and deep steps and a folding ramp for my truck, her suv he can step right in.
  4. CaroleC

CaroleC Member

Name:
    Carole
    I think you may be right about the conformation not helping. Hopefully it's just a sprain, but let us know what the vet says. Fingers crossed for you and Callie.
  5. lovemybull

lovemybull Member

Name:
    Opheila