Malinois 6 months puppy biting help General Chat

Discussion in 'Belgian Shepherd Dog (Malinois)' started by Karla Krallis, Mar 5, 2022.

1. Karla Krallis

Karla Krallis New Member

Name:
    Karla

Malinois 6 months puppy biting help

Hi,
    I am not new to protection/working dogs. But, I am new to this breed. I have him in professional training for obedience at the moment.

My question is that my Malinois keeps trying to or nipping at my 6 year olds’ faces. What do I do about this? How to solve it?

PS - great to be here!
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. CaroleC

CaroleC Member

Name:
    Carole
    Hi Karla, I presume that you are already using the blocking techniques of folded arms and leaving the room to stop excitable behaviour, but that your child is too small to do this. Malinois are a high energy breed, and 6 year old's are high energy kids. I would say that you might be better keeping your puppy separated - but still a part of family activity - by using baby gates. (You might need the extra tall ones for this breed).
    You say that you are using a professional trainer - what was his/her suggestion?
  4. Toedtoes

Toedtoes Member

Name:
    Toed
    I agree with the use of baby gates. Only allow the puppy to be in the same room as your child if an adult is there with them to supervise.

If you haven't done so, teach him to sit on command. When he does, praise him and give him a treat or favorite toy. Get him to sit when he wants something - including his meals. If it is in someone's hands, he has to sit to get it. Everyone in the family needs to practice this with him.