Which breed Which breed for me?

Discussion in 'General Dog Chat' started by donna.b, Dec 20, 2011.

1. donna.b

donna.b New Member

Name:
    donna

Which breed

I already have 2 dogs, a collie and a rottie but would like to add another to our family, we are in no rush at all, and actually I'd rather take months choosing the right breed for us.
    A bit of info for you:
    I live with my husband and 3 children aged 8, 12 and 18 in a town house with a medium garden. I work part time I leave house about 8.30 and am home by 1.15 some days my eldest is at home depending on her college timetable, but at the most it would be just over 4 hours. I also work in a school so have lovely long holidays. My dogs I have now are absolutely fine with this.
    The new addition would obviously have to get on with other dogs and be comfortable in a busy household with lots of people coming and going.
    Grooming Is not a problem as I'm used to that now with my 2.
    Exercise wise probably 2 hours per day in 1 hour blocks then longer walks at weekends.
    2 breeds I have in mind are boxer and Labrador although these are not the only ones I would consider, these are just 2 I have looked into slightly more.
    If you want any more info let me know.
    As I said I'm in no rush and also would much prefer getting a puppy. Would breeders be adverse to me visiting them even before I had chosen them as the breeder I'd like?
    Hope I've given you enough info
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. donna.b

donna.b New Member

Name:
    donna
    Thanks for moving, I'm sure I'll get used to it soon enough lol
  4. Zuluandnaomi

Zuluandnaomi New Member

Name:
    Naomi
    Have you or would you perhaps consider getting a staffy? They are fantastic with people and children and are incredible family dogs. There are heaps of young dogs and puppies stuck in rescues at the moment who would just love a nice home and family like yours :)
  5. donna.b