Is my boy a Springer or a Field Spaniel?

Discussion in 'Field Spaniel' started by firefox, Feb 21, 2010.

1. wallaroo

wallaroo New Member

Name:
    Gill
    Still similar but i can tell the difference now!

[​IMG]
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. Josilou

Josilou New Member

Name:
    Josilou
    He's lovely.

I quite like the names like sprocker - I think it's nicer than saying crossbreed or mongrel, especially if both parents are known as then the name only refers to two breeds. I don't mind the 'doodle' names either.
  4. Tarimoor

Tarimoor Member

Name:
    Joanne
    Posting and dashing as I have lots of work on, but he doesn't look like a field spaniel to me, not that I'm an expert, have seen a few, and by comparison I'd have to agree either a working cocker or springer, or a mix of the two.

Sprockers have been bred for many years, they do make good little working dogs, but unfortunately, the name has been used by those who breed fashionable cross breeds as a marketing ploy. Labradors and springers are also a fairly common cross for working folk.

Can't remember the date, but springers and cockers used to be decided by weight at a certain age, so you could have both in a litter. True officionados of either breed, won't touch certain lines that they believe have one or the other in that they don't want in their breeding. It also means that you get a bit of confusion occasionally about colours, I've seen almost solid springers, although that's more unusual than seeing liver or black and white cockers, that don't 'roan' up as they grow.

I've got a little liver cocker pup at the moment my OH is running on for someone, I'll try and post a pic of him a bit later.
  5. Tarimoor

Tarimoor Member

Name:
    Joanne