Bladder stone risk for mixed breed female dalmatians Health

Discussion in 'Dalmatian' started by Keena, May 29, 2016.

1. Keena

Keena New Member

Name:
    Keena

Bladder stone risk for mixed breed female dalmatians

Hi - I'm new to this forum.

I will soon be adopting a female dalmatian mix shelter dog. What is her risk for developing bladder stones? I’ve read that females are at much less risk than males. Also, are mixed breeds at risk as much as pure-breds? I’m hoping that the other breeds in her will have enough of the protein-digesting enzyme that it will counter the lack of it in her dalmatian side. I will be sure to feed her a high-quality, low purine dry dog food.
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. CaroleC

CaroleC Member

Name:
    Carole
    I have no expert knowledge, but believe that you need two copies of this gene to produce an affected dog. As all Dalmatians that are not part of the outcross programme will have this gene, your girl will almost certainly be a carrier, but I would think it is highly unlikely that she could have inherited a copy from her non Dally parent. There is a DNA test available, but as she is not going to be bred from, it will not really be of benefit to you.
    You could try contacting the Dalmatian breed club, (health co-ordinater), for an expert opinion , or maybe someone on here will be able to add to my comments.
  4. Kitkat_

Kitkat_ Member

Name:
    Katie
    Unless the other breed mixed with is a breed with High Uric Acid she should be the same as any other dog. The Low Uric Acid line of Dalmatians was an out cross of a Dal to an English Pointer.
  5. Keena

Keena New Member

Name:
    Keena
    CaroleC and 6JRT's like this.
    This is Darbey. I can't identify what the mix might be. Darbey.jpg
  6. CaroleC

CaroleC Member

Name:
    Carole
    To me, it looks as if a collie is the other parent. I don't think you are going have a problem.
  7. Keena

Keena New Member

Name:
    Keena