The First Year Questions

Discussion in 'Miniature Schnauzer' started by ewal26, Jan 5, 2018.

1. ewal26

ewal26 New Member

Name:
    EW

The First Year

Hi, I am a newbie Miniature Schnauzer mummy and love my 20 week old puppy to bits. He is such a character, with bursts of energy. I just have a few questions about the first year with them and what to expect...
    At what age do they start maturing/calming down?
    What behaviours do they outgrow?
    Will barking at other dogs always been an issue?
    I’d really appreciate hearing about your experiences and any advice you may have. Thanks
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. CaroleC

CaroleC Member

Name:
    Carole
    Hello EW, welcome to the forum.
    I don't want to sound glib, but a lot depends on how much training you are prepared to do with him. At 20 weeks he is old enough for puppy classes, and will soon be able to learn some basic manners, and not to bark at his classmates
  4. ewal26

ewal26 New Member

Name:
    EW
    CaroleC likes this.
    Yes, he’s just started puppy classes. He had his first one this week...he barked a lot and I tried everything to occupy him with toys and very yummy treats, etc. He’s just more interested in the other dogs and the barking is more ‘I want to say hello and play’ rather than anything aggressive. He’s the same on walks too. I suppose it’s early days though?! Fingers crossed
  5. My bear Yoji

My bear Yoji Member

Name:
    Philippa
    CaroleC likes this.
    You & I have totally different breeds, really opposite ens of the scale, but, I’m guessing all puppies are puppies with similar traits. Once they begin to mature the “ breed “ traits are what you work with rather than push against, if that makes sense
    All puppies are inquisitive, nervous, mischievous, full of energy and at times somewhat annoying
    Enjoy this time ( even though you want it to pass ) it won’t last long, even though you think it’s going on forever !