Food aggression Questions

Discussion in 'Cane Corso' started by Agatha & Bruce, Sep 1, 2019.

1. Agatha & Bruce

Agatha & Bruce New Member

Name:
    Josh Hansen

Food aggression

Hello,
    I am new to this forum .
    I am fairly new to the Corso Breed as well . I have a nine month old blue female . She is the smartest and most affectionate puppy I’ve met .
    We have completed puppy and intermediate obedience at our local PetSmart .
    She has never shown aggression towards any other dog big or small .
    We recently brought home our male 9 week old Corso .
    And I’m noticing she’s giving him a growl and a bark when he comes near her feeding area .
    Is this something I should let her teach him to stay away . Should I redirect her that she’s misbehaving. Or should I just feed them separately .
    Any fees back would be appreciated thanks
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. Malka

Malka Member

Name:
    Juli
    Hello and welcome to your Corsos and you to Breedia :039:

I do not know anything about the breed, only having had small dogs, but I think it would be better to feed yours separately until they are used to each other. She is not misbehaving, she does not yet understanding that there is a new pup in the house.

That is what I always did when I had a new pup - feed them separately until they realised that the other one was not going to take their food.
  4. who owns who

who owns who Member

Name:
    Marc
    Hi Josh, it seems to me that she is just warning him to stay away from her feeding area. Does this happen at meal time or just anytime he goes near her feeding area?