Frenchie Color Questions

Discussion in 'French Bulldog' started by The Stick, Sep 14, 2020.

1. The Stick

The Stick New Member

Name:
    Vickii

Frenchie Color

Hi,
    I'm a newbie here, writing from New Zealand & really need some help with Frenchie colors.
    I've been waiting since March for the right puppy. I really really want a red bitch (use to owner boxers so that's where the love of the color comes from) Not to mention a Frenchie is like a boxer in a small package! A bouncing bundle of joy (well maybe not so much bouncing) So many litters I've seen, everything from Brindle to Merle but no reds! ;<

So now my question for you all is .....

A litter was born 5 days ago & they're all Sables! Red & fawn Sables.
    There is one puppy who has a very dark brown/chocolaty coat with a lighter head. I do like this puppy's different color I've never seen it before, however .....
    Will the color change? Will the coat get lighter to match the head?
    Will the coat stay dark?
    What happens with Sable colors?
    The mother is a red fawn
    The father is brown & tan with the 'blue' gene (has had blue litters with other bitches with this gene) but this bitch doesn't have it.
    Can anyone one help? I'll post more info if needed & a picture if I can!
    Many thanks in advance
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. Jeff Crook

Jeff Crook New Member

Name:
    Jeff
    It is personal preference in my opinion. I own 2 blues that are healthy, many will tell you to only stick with the standard colors only. Either way you go love your puppy it’s the best breed ever.
  4. The Stick

The Stick New Member

Name:
    Vickii
    Thanks for the reply .... nothing wrong with blues, I also love the color, I was just wondering do Sables change as they get older? I like her color now ;>
  5. Malka

Malka Member

Name:
    Juli
    mydoglover likes this.