Beagle from Dogs 4 Us is a Harrier HELP!! Questions

Discussion in 'Beagle' started by Mooma, Nov 4, 2008.

1. Mooma

Mooma New Member

Name:
    Lucie

Beagle from Dogs 4 Us is a Harrier HELP!!

Hi,

I'm new to Dogsy and am looking for some help and advice.

Around 4 months ago I rehomed what I believed to be a beagle from a family that could no longer give him the time he needed (a common problem as I understand it). They had purchased him from Dogs 4 Us in Manchester and he is DLRC registered.

Let me just say that I would never buy a puppy from this company. I understand that they mainly deal with puppy farms and having recently visited their new branch just down the road from me in Leeds my opinions on that are stronger than ever.

Brian, my dog, is wonderful, I love him to pieces but he is not a beagle. He is most certainly a Harrier, standing almost 21 inches at the withers and looking nothing like a beagle other than his tri-colour.

I am uncertain what to do. Obviously I will be contacting dogs 4 us about this as Harrier's are not even a KC recognised breed in the UK. Does anyone have any advice for me? In particular I am interested in the differences in health and temperament between Harriers and Beagles. I wanted a beagle as our family pet and a companion for my four year old son. Size was important as obviously four year olds are little lol.

I have been unable to find any harrier breeders and believe that these dogs are pretty much exclusively used in hunt packs. Hunt kennels are not allowed to sell their dogs so I worry how he has been bred and sold.

Thanks in advance for anyone that reads this,
    Mooma and Brian the not beagle!
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. Hali

Hali New Member

Name:
    Fiona
    Gosh, I'm not sure what advice to give you.

I should imagine that the fact that you got Brian '2nd hand' rather than direct from Dogs 4 Us will give you limited or no come back on them whatsoever.