Should I stud My Staffy out? Questions

Discussion in 'General Dog Chat' started by luke truby-bradley, Aug 8, 2015.

1. luke truby-bradley

luke truby-bradley New Member

Name:
    luke

Should I stud My Staffy out?

hi,

I am new to all of this, i have owned my staffy for just over a year, he is 16.5 inch to the shoulders, so im presuming he is more or less fully grown and mature enough for breeding, he demonstrates it too whenever he is around a bitch, i and just seeking advice of experienced dog owners/breeders into whether i should stud my little man out. Please tell me all there is to know pro/cons risks etc. here is a picture or him and my other pets IMG_20150808_111813833[1].jpg IMG_20150807_210625264[1].jpg
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. LMost

LMost Member

Name:
    LMost
    Has he been pennhip vs ofa tested?
    Has he been tested for any genetic breed issues?
    Any show or working titles?

If no to the above, then most likely no, to your question.
  4. luke truby-bradley

Name:
    luke
    he had all the tests but no show or titles
  5. Tarimoor

Tarimoor Member

Name:
    Joanne
    What are his results?

I'll be quite honest with you, with the number of staffies being bred, unless he's been proven I personally would suggest you don't bother. Stud dog handling is not a matter of letting them get on with it, and actually, the fact that he's showing interest in all bitches shows inexperience, not that he is showing any promise as a stud dog. A stud dog will leave bitches alone unless they are at the point of their season where they are ready to mate.