Chinese crested lowdown please! General Chat

Discussion in 'Chinese Crested' started by Tammy1976, Aug 15, 2012.

1. Tammy1976

Tammy1976 New Member

Name:
    Tammy

Chinese crested lowdown please!

Hiya

I have been actively searching for a companion for my puppy for 3 weeks now and I have the opportunity to purchase a chinese crested.

I have seen many pictures of her and chatted with the breeder and I am smitten however I am slightly scared that I could not offer her the best home as I have had no experience with a hairless dog and I am worried that this breed will be harder to look after than your regular hairy friend lol.

I have read up as much as I can and I am aware that sunscreen/jumpers are a must but it is the silly things that niggle me such as... is she more likely to injure herself without fur? do hairless dogs still like to be stroked (considering it seems I would just be stroking skin?)

These questions may seem silly and I apologise for my naivety but I really need to be 100% certain I can offer her a perfect home.

I will massively appreciate anyone with experience of this breed to reply with all the ins and outs of ownership.

Many thanks, Tammy
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. SarahJade

SarahJade New Member

Name:
    SJ
    I would honestly recommend waiting until your pup is much older. Having a companion for her may seem like a good idea but having a young puppy and another dog may prove to be a lot of trouble, regardless of breed.
    There are many reason to wait, such as adding another dog will have a knock on effect to your training, and also your relationship with your dog.