Gundog training for a family dog Training

Discussion in 'Gundog Forum' started by Mad_Marley, Jul 20, 2012.

1. Mad_Marley

Mad_Marley New Member

Name:
    john

Gundog training for a family dog

Hi,
    i have a 12 week old working springer x cocker pup. I'm not planning on working him as he is suppose to be a family dog, but i was hoping to train him some of the gun dog commands.

I currently have him sitting to command and hand signals, lying down, coming from distance and retrieve. I'm also working on wait, heel and find but due to his age I know there gonna take a bit longer to master.

I'm just wondering what training I should be focusing on and at what age I should be introducing new commands without pushing him to hard.

This is my first dog so I'm still learning my self.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated

thanks jon
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. smokeybear

smokeybear New Member

Name:
    smokeybear
    There are really no commands which are unique to gundogs.

The most important thing to teach your dog is the recall, which in dogs like this cannot be over emphasised.
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 20, 2012
  4. labradork

labradork New Member

Name:
    labradork
    Hi Jon

The best thing to do is join a gundog training group when he is old enough. Members that live near you may be able to give you some recommendations. Nothing beats the hands on experience of a good gundog trainer and you won't be able to replicate the distractions provided in a training class on your own. It is a good social occasion too. :)

The majority of gundog work revolves around general obedience and steadiness. The retrieving and hunting part should (in theory) come naturally to the dog -- you just shape them how you see fit. Don't run before you can walk and over complicate it at this stage. I would carry on exactly as you are doing with the basic obedience and self control exercises first and foremost.
  5. Tass