HELP! 10 month old GSP adoption questions Behaviour

Discussion in 'German Shorthaired Pointer' started by Lauren Clark, Aug 27, 2018.

1. Lauren Clark

Lauren Clark New Member

Name:
    Lauren Clark

HELP! 10 month old GSP adoption questions

I need some advice!

We adopted a 10 month old GSP/Dane mix in July and I need some advice. I have three young sons who are very energetic and was looking for a dog that would keep them busy in the backyard and give them exercise while playing with the dog. I have had Danes before, but haven't had a dog since having children 7 years ago.

This is my first time with a GSP and I knew little about the breed before adopting the dog. The previous owner gave me little information about her needs and it seemed like she had more of the Dane personality than a GSP.

She is a very smart girl and learns very quickly, but has picked up a TON of bad habits. She has dug a hole in my carpet within seconds, chewed through cords, knocked down my kids and play bitten them daily, eats off the counter, growls at men, growls at other dogs, barks constantly in her kennel and has even bent the wires and escaped it several times, and pulls on the leash STRONG!

She has been play biting the boys for a few weeks now and it seems like I am always, ALWAYS telling the boys NO and the dog NO. The kids start school next week and so I feel like I will be able to get more consistent with the dog but she has SO much energy.

She will JUMP full force over the couch and lands on a kid, and last night she half play/half protectively bit two kids who were over for a cookout with their families. That felt like the last straw for me.

She begins obedience classes tonight but has growled at all other dogs that we have seen on walks.