Need information about wirehaired vizslas and shedding hair General Chat

Discussion in 'Hungarian Vizsla' started by misterphil, Jan 4, 2013.

1. misterphil

misterphil New Member

Name:
    David

Need information about wirehaired vizslas and shedding hair

Hi,
    Quick context: I'm keen to get a dog (having a baby interrupted my previous attempt - it's 4 years since I posted here last, although I've continued to read) - my preference is towards a wirehaired vizsla, but my wife, who sometimes reacts to dogs is reluctant because the only dog she knows looks like it's smoking, due to the clouds of hair that come off it (short haired labrador/wippet cross).

As a child, I grew up with cairn terriers - rough coats, and as far as I and my parents can remember, little in the way of shed hair.

I have read about plucking/stripping hair from them, as it gets longer, but I have no experience in wirehaired pointers (A friend has a short haired vizla that sheds a bit, but nothing like the lab).

Can anyone give me an idea as to whether they shed a lot, or alternatively, suggest strategies for managing the hair loss. I do understand that all dogs shed some hair (in fact, judging by the bath plug, so does my wife!), but I would welcome feedback from WHV owners if possible :)

thanks in advance for your help!
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. Anniebee

Anniebee New Member

Name:
    Annie
    When you say that your wife reacts, how do you mean? Does she have asthma or does the hair make her skin react?

Anyhoo, all of the wires that I know are relatively easy with regards shedding and grooming. IMO they do shed more noticeably than a smooth, but not as much as say a Labrador. Their wire coat doesn't seem to need as much maintenance as something like a Border Terrier. Some do a light hand strip on them as and when it's needed, some just brush and they seem to be fine.

HTH?
  4. misterphil

misterphil New Member

Name:
    David