Pet insurance Questions

Discussion in 'Presa Canario' started by Chris71, Oct 9, 2016.

1. Chris71

Chris71 New Member

Name:
    Chris
    Azz likes this.

Pet insurance

I have a 5mth old presa and I'm struggling to get her insured,
    I am in the U.K.
    Can anybody help?
    Thanks
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. CaroleC

CaroleC Member

Name:
    Carole
    Azz likes this.
    Are you looking for health insurance, or 3rd. party cover?
    Just had a quick Google, and there does seem to be a problem with getting insurance for what are seen as guarding breeds. Healthy Pets seems to be one company that has been suggested elsewhere - I have no personal experience.
    If it is the 3rd party insurance that most concerns you, why not join The Dogs Trust? For an annual membership fee of £25, (£12.50 for seniors), you get £1000000 cover for any dog in your ownership, (an excess does apply - I think it is £200). You also get access to a 24hr vet helpline, and a Canine Care card in case you should pre-decease your dog.
  4. Azz

Azz Adminstrator

Name:
    Azz
  5. Kaate

Kaate New Member

Name:
    Kate
    Hi Chris,
    I am due to get a male Presa in 2 weeks, and I am in the Uk. I cannot find insurance anywhere for him. Did you get any? Thanks.
    Kate :)
  6. Janet

Janet Member

Name:
    Janet
    Does your breeder have any suggestions?

Hope you find something OK.
  7. Kaate

Kaate New Member

Name:
    Kate
    I hoped to find something myself. If I cant, I will message the breeder and wait for a response! thank you.
  8. Bulldogs4Life

Bulldogs4Life Member

Name:
    Ezee
    If you are unable to get it (which is simply crazy, but if they won't accept they won't accept) then you could start a savings fund. Not what you want but worse case scenario.
  9. Chris B

Chris B Member

Name:
    Chris
    have you tried Petplan and Healthy Pets? Both used to do it (looking at other forums where the question has come up)