Showing our gundogs Showing

Discussion in 'Gundog Forum' started by random, Nov 13, 2005.

1. random

random New Member

Name:
    Kel

Showing our gundogs

Hey i've just joined this group so bear with me! :lol:

I'm hopefully going to be showing Maddy my Weimaraner, she starts ringcraft in a few weeks (after her basic obedience is done;)) I have never shown a dog before and wondered if anyone had any tips or advice on showing in general, but especially aimed at showing a gundog.

I will be meeting up with her breeder at a lot of the shows, who will also be showing her mum and brother, as he has said a lot of judges go and reputation and if I stick with them and let it be known Maddy is one of their pups i'll be fine!

What does everyone think/know about this? I'm totally new to the showing world!

Thanx guys xx
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. amts

amts New Member

Name:
    AnneMette
    I´ve been thinking about showing my dog aswell, as I´m thinking of breeding her. What I did was going to shows, talking to showppl and breeders and just asked all the Q´s I could think of, watched them, took pics and baicly being a pain in the butt :lol: :lol:

What I´ve seen and learned isnt excactly positive and tbh I´m not sure I´ll bother showing my dog :?
    Things might be diff with your breed but with labs like I have, its not something I feel is either serios or at any use.

I think what you´re doing so far sounds to be a good idea and then you can make up your own mind to the showworld and wheter its for you or not :grin:
  4. Natasha

Natasha New Member

I think you have made a good start already, ring craft while she is young meeting with the breeder who already is experienced in the showing world, helps alot when you have someone experienced in the showing world to help you out and offer support.