Wolfhound/Deerhound - what's the basic differences please? Questions

Discussion in 'Deerhound' started by Evie, Mar 28, 2009.

1. Evie

Evie New Member

Name:
    Evie

Wolfhound/Deerhound - what's the basic differences please?

Hi,

I know nothing really about these two breeds. Apart from knowing a few irish wolfhounds in the past, that's literally it. Out in the car today my partner pointed out a "deerhound" and I questioned wether it might be a wolfhound.... We both realised we have no idea what the differences are between the two....

So for a complete novice, and out of curiosty's sake;
    How do we tell the difference between the two breeds please?
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. Pita

Pita New Member

Name:
    Jackie or Jay
    Apart from the fact that they share similar coat colours they are very different. The construction and substance is not in the least alike.

To put it in easy terms the deerhound is refined and elegant in construction the Irish Wolfhound is in comparison solid and well built.

A IW is the tallest dog we have and although it may not be the heaviest it is never delicate the head and leg bone in particular is often described as substantial and the temperament is also solid and unhurried.

The Deerhound is more delicate with finer bone and lighter movement, more likely to be seen moving about at speed.

Both are lovely breeds but once you get to know them they are nothing alike in looks or character.

You do get poor examples in both breeds the deerhound being too heavy and substantial and the IW being light of bone and lacking substance - however the head is always a very definite shape and once you know it you will not make a mistake although reading the standard does not make this as clear as it might you have to see the animals.

Once adult the deerhound moves in a similar manner to other sighthounds the IW moves in a far more heavy determined fashion.