American bulldog diet Discussions

Discussion in 'American Bulldog' started by MCL169, Dec 14, 2023.

1. MCL169

MCL169 New Member

Name:
    L

American bulldog diet

Ive been looking into diets and wanted some input. I hear a lot about protein and raw food. I definitely want my dog to look healthy and be fit with good muscle tone but first of all I want her healthy so I'm looking for a nice outline or Diet regimen that I can put together for her.
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. CaroleC

CaroleC Member

Name:
    Carole
    Toedtoes likes this.
    I'm afraid I have no experience of Bull breeds but didn't want to ignore you.
    My dog tends to go overweight so I feed a good low-calorie, grain free kibble, topped with a dollop of raw or cooked meat, and I add a small dose of Atlantic salmon oil. She also has a crunchy 'salad' of raw red and green veggies.
  4. Toedtoes

Toedtoes Member

Name:
    Toed
    MCL169 and CaroleC like this.
    Your first step should be to discuss diet with your vet.

If your vet is not knowledgeable on diets, then I would ask for a reference for a vet who is knowledgeable on diets.

Bully breeds can be susceptible to allergies. In addition, just like with human diets, there is a habit for declarations of all or nothing rather than moderation. And that can create bigger issues. You want to get an educated evaluation by a vet to determine if your dog needs anything in particular.

With a raw food diet, you have to be very careful to make sure the dog gets all the nutrients needed. You also need to make sure that the dog doesn't have an allergy to any ingredient. So if you go that route, I would go slowly. Keeping the kibble as part of the diet and adding the raw ingredients one by one so you know which is most likely the problem if there is a reaction, etc.