English Springer's and Protectiveness/Guarding?

Discussion in 'English Springer Spaniel' started by Luke, Feb 26, 2007.

1. Luke

Luke New Member

English Springer's and Protectiveness/Guarding?

As you all know i'm new to the breed, Ralph being my first English Springer. No matter where i look i can never find any information on English Springers guarding/protective instincts, and it's something that does interest me. Ralph is very much a protective dog..he is very soppy as a springer should, but he is also very protective..when people first come into the house he does the usual coming to sit infront of me thing, ditto for when out walking and someone walks over/past. He's also very 'in key' with people going past the house, coming to the door etc etc..he always tends to have to go and investigate every noise or things that are out of place.
    So my question, are english springer's actually quite protective?
    And do they/would they ever make a half decent watch/guard dog?
    The latter question is something thats always interested me, i suspect they would be quite off putting for an 'intruder' as a lot of people when out walking tend to be put off by their natural all over the placeness too..
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. Phil

Phil Fondly Remembered

Name:
    Phil
    Hi Luke.

Springers can be very possessive of both 'their' people and their belongings. Also with food they can be aggressively possessive.
  4. Sprocker

Sprocker New Member

Name:
    Rhyannon
    It is not something I would encourage as they could become to over possessive. They are not naturally guarding dogs, their breeding is to naturally flush game and work, so your best of channeling their energy into activities that stimulate their mind. Mine will bark when someone comes to the door or sets foot on our drive. And will growl quietly if they are not sure who it is, but will shut up when told.
  5. Luke

Luke New Member