Good breeds for apartment living? General Chat

Discussion in 'General Dog Chat' started by Mosweu, Mar 24, 2012.

1. Mosweu

Mosweu New Member

Name:
    Alison

Good breeds for apartment living?

Hi, I have joined Dogsey as I am looking to get my first dog, having gone part-time at work and working part-time from home.

I have limited experience with dogs - when I was young my Dad had dogs, and I had a great relationship with them all, however they lived outside (he lived in Africa) and when we went for a walk, there were no leads involved. And I used to look after a friend's (rescue) dog, Tess, when they were away. Sadly she had to be put to sleep last year. This friend will look after my dog whenever I am away, and they have a cat and children, the youngest of whom is 9.

I think I would like a fairly young dog, but not sure whether I should go for a 'new' puppy. or slightly older.

I'm looking for a medium energy dog and, I think, medium size.

Ideally I'd like a low shedding dog that doesn't need grooming more than approx once a week.

As I live in a flat, I couldn't have, and wouldn't want, an incessant barker, and ideally not too much drool.

How long I have to leave my dog will vary initially, as still working part-time, so that would be 2 full days per week - although I would look into getting a dog walker.

Our flats only have a small communal garden, but I do live right next to a cycle path (converted railway line), which sees alot of dogs.

I'm happy to see that my dog goes out as often as needs be for toileting and at least twice a day for walks and would also be interested in taking us to agility training.

Any suggestions of breeds and where from, gratefully received.

Cheers, Alison
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 24, 2012
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. 3dognight

3dognight

Name:
    phil