Hair loss in 3month old akita Discussions

Discussion in 'Akita' started by Magen, Apr 7, 2020.

1. Magen

Magen New Member

Name:
    Mbos12

Hair loss in 3month old akita

Hey guys! So I am new to the akita world. I have owned only Dobermans. I am not familiar with the hair coat of these beautiful dogs. I am Also a veterinary nurse. I have a 3month old male Akita puppy. He has recently Started scratching and chewing really bad. Along his back he is missing chunks of hair. The skin under is fine no breaks or flaking signs. He is current on flea medicine and has been scraped for mites, that was negative. He is currently on ivermectin to rule out demodex or scabies. He does not present like a food allergy dog either. So my question is can this hairloss be due to his puppy coat shedding? Help! Thanks in advance
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. who owns who

who owns who Member

Name:
    Marc
    This doesn’t sound like anything I’ve experienced with any of my Akitas.

He must have either food allergies or some type of parasite on his skin or coat. At 3 months old he wouldn’t be losing his puppy coat yet.

What do you feed him?
  4. Magen

Magen New Member

Name:
    Mbos12