Ignoring me Questions

Discussion in 'English Setter' started by edith_19, Dec 5, 2015.

1. edith_19

edith_19 New Member

Name:
    Hilary
    Azz and 6JRT's like this.

Ignoring me

I've owned dogs for over 25 years but I am new to English Setters. I have an 11 week old puppy and I am interested to know how others, more experienced than I, actually get their puppies to do anything for them? He ignores me, it doesn't matter if I change my tone or jump up and down holding treats, if he doesn't want to do something he won't. Its driving me crazy..
  2. Registered users won't see this advert. Sign up for free!

3. 6JRT's

6JRT's Member

Name:
    u
    I know this might sound daft question but could your puppy be deaf, that's possible reason he's ignoring you.
  4. Janet

Janet Member

Name:
    Janet
    How long have you had him? Perhaps he's just overwhelmed by being in a new home and will soon find his feet.

I once had a border collie pup who was very reserved to begin with - a complete contrast to puppies I'd had in the past. She turned out to be a wonderful dog.

I've no experience of English Setters I'm afraid, so don't know what they're normally like. Hopefully someone who knows the breed will come along with some advice.
  5. Jackie

Jackie Member

Name:
    Jackie
    From what I know of the breed (know a few owners) this is fairly typical of them, they have an independent steak in them, the ones I know have tested their owners to the brink.

Lovely dogs all the same, you just need to find his triggers ,I don't have ES , but my own breed is one that tests you to the limits, good luck with him,
  6. Chris B

Chris B Member

Name:
    Chris
    Vary your rewards - treats, play, fuss, chase.

Keep him guessing and make it fun and interesting. Don't repeat stuff too often. Make every training session short and exciting.
  7. My dogs maid

My dogs maid New Member

Name:
    Peter
    Malka and CaroleC like this.